Things that shouldn’t have gluten…but do.

celiac awareness month

Retrieved from: http://udisglutenfree.com/category/udis-blog/celiac-support/

Happy Celiac Awareness Month! Since today is the first day of May, I thought it would be fitting to have a post about gluten free!

So I thought of this topic as a blog post when I was in the dining court one day. I saw that dill pickle slices said they contained gluten…why? Pickles (dill, not sweet) are one of my favorite foods and I was wondering why on Earth they would have gluten?! So, I decided to write a post about things that shouldn’t have gluten…but do.

  1. Dill Pickles….yes, I just went over this…I’m serious about my pickles haha 🙂
  2. Make up products. Why they feel the need to put gluten in make up is beyond me. Yes, it may help it to stay together more easily but find something else. Sometimes, being a girl is hard enough, let alone being a gluten free girl.
  3. Shampoo and conditioners. Yes, I can tell when my shampoo contains gluten. I get an awful headache.
  4. Nail polish…why?
  5. Envelopes. Licking envelopes are nasty anyways, just gives me another excuse not to lick the envelope haha.
  6. Toothpaste. We have to check food, now we have to check our toiletries too? *shakes head*
  7. Lotion..again, why?
  8. Gum…I know, gluten helps things to stick together…
  9. Chocolate…just because chocolate is amazing and should always be gluten free…and dairy free 🙂
  10. Flavored teas. Most beverages in general. How do they manage to sneak in gluten? I love tea.
  11. Hair spray. Goes along with the shampoo and conditioner…I can tell when it has gluten.
  12. Spices. Naturally gluten free but companies somehow manage to sneak gluten in them too.
  13. Medicines. Something you wouldn’t think of to check for gluten but of course, we have to.
  14. Meat products. Again, something that is naturally gluten free…
  15. Sunscreen. I also wouldn’t have thought to check this for gluten either.

Did you think of any other things that shouldn’t have gluten but do? Comment below!

Ciara

 

 

One thought on “Things that shouldn’t have gluten…but do.

Leave a Reply

